DMSP F-15 end of mission occurred Aug 9, 2021 around 0424 EDT (0824Z) as controllers and engineering executed the end-of-life (EOL) CP.  Around 0054 EDT (0454Z) the spacecraft had lost earth lock and that the end of the mission was imminent.  

All products derived from SSMI data are discontinued.

 

Original Message:  https://www.ospo.noaa.gov/data/messages/2021/MSG221180402.html

 

Topic: Termination of DMSP F-15 (SSMI-9) Products

Date/Time Issued: August 9, 2021 1756Z

 
Product(s) or Data Impacted: SSMI products

Date/Time of Initial Impact: August 9, 2021 0454Z

Date/Time of Expected End: N/A

Length of Outage: N/A

Details/Specifics of Change: DMSP F-15 end of mission occurred today Aug 9, 2021 around 0424 EDT (0824Z) as controllers and engineering executed the end-of-life (EOL) CP.  Around 0054 EDT (0454Z) the spacecraft had lost earth lock and that the end of the mission was imminent.  

All products derived from SSMI data are discontinued.

Contact Information for Further Information:  ESPC Operations at ESPCOperations@noaa.gov at 301-817-3880